With TCD, you pay for 'uses' of the design tool. A new design project will count as one of these uses.
An edit of an existing design will also count as one of these uses. An edit will revise an existing room project ('My project' becomes 'My project v2,' and so on).
Editing is intended to allow all aspects of a fixed screen, dedicated cinema room to be edited: title, room dimensions, RT60/acoustic treatment, fixed screen size/manufacturer/material/model, projector, seating, and all the loudspeakers, subwoofers and electronics. The channel count can also be changed.
- Media Room / Media Room Pro designs can’t be edited; in order to refine the design of a flat panel/drop down screen room will require a new use of the tool.
Not all codec changes or room fundamentals are possible with editing, some require a new job to be run. The following can be edited in a previous design:
- Legacy – Dolby Atmos, DTS:X or Trinnov/Harman
- Dolby Atmos – Trinnov/Harman
- DTS:X – Trinnov/Harman
You must complete each project in order to save it. You may go back and edit any project twice more; the only sections you cannot edit on a previous design are the project name and room dimensions.
TCD will automatically re-load your equipment and design choices when you re-open a previous design, and you may edit any other part of the design and re-calculate.
It’s important to realize that stepping through a new design with the tool creates a huge number of permutations before getting to the calcs/CAD. Edit is really opening a previous design and recreating the steps in order, which gets to the configuration the user had before they pressed calculate. With this in mind, it’s not feasible to anticipate and code up all aspects as being changeable – such as edit a dedicated cinema room into a media room, or going from a high render channel count cinema with four different subs, back to a Legacy 5.1 design with a single subwoofer. This would be more efficiently done with a new design.
Subscribers with remaining uses from their 30/month or 365/year can either edit any design in their account history or re-run the tool to refine any design in their account history.
Single users will have three uses and no time limit to either edit a design or re-run the tool to refine the design.